Favorite Authors at the Moment

image (30)
Kate Bolick´s Spinster is very probably my all-time favorite book.

Being a full-time university student as well as an avid reader, summer is one of my favorite seasons for more reasons than just the nicer weather – because summer means more time to read something which doesn’t revolve around my studies. During the warmer, lecture-free months, I use every opportunity to squeeze in a book. I try to stay open-minded when picking my reading material, but that said, some authors tend to stay with me longer than others. Here are a few of them.

  • Kate Bolick. Even though I am only aware of her having written one book – Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own – that one book was captivating enough to skyrocket her to the top of my list of favorite authors. I first read Spinster last summer, as an audiobook from Audible, and fell so in love with it that immediately after turning the last page, I ordered a physical copy of the book. I will probably post a separate review of this wonderful book, but in it, Bolick talks about her own need for being alone, single, standing outside of society’s “regular” order of marriage and relationships, and her coming to terms with that fundamental longing within her. It’s truly a wonderful piece of work.
  • Brené Brown. The author of books such as I Thought It Was Just Me (but it isn’t), Daring Greatly and most recently Rising Strong, her work as a researcher on shame and vulnerability has influenced even re-organized my thinking in a dramatic way. Her books are not the kind of books you read once and then forget – you read them once, then again, and again and feel a weight lifted off of your shoulders every time.
  • Amy Ewing. This one is a little different from the rest on this list and it’s fairly likely you haven’t heard of her or her fantasy books, The Jewel, The White Rose and The House of the Stone. All of these are part of the same series and I highly, highly recommend them – and that’s coming from someone who usually doesn’t touch any novel classified as a “fantasy” with a ten-foot pole. Unless it’s Harry Potter. Naturally.
  • Cara Alwill Leyba. Master life coach, founder of The Champagne Diet and author of several books, including Sparkle and Girl Code – both favorites of mine – Cara will never let you get away with any bullshit but will always, always have something uplifting and inspiring to tell you.
  • Sylvia Plath. I hardly need to talk about her at all. The Bell Jar, anyone? So. Good.

Those are my favorites, for now. The authors I keep coming back to for more. Please share your favorite authors and books with me in the comments below – I’d love something new to add to my summer reading list!

xox – Lady Reykjavík.

Leave a Reply

