A Weekend in Akureyri

Last weekend I traveled to the small city/big town Akureyri for my niece’s baptism – Iceland’s second largest city, after Reykjavík. I had such a wonderful time, stepping out of the city turmoil for a few days and into the tranquility of this small, warm-hearted town, so I thought I would share some of my favorite photos from this weekend. Hope you enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
We arrived very late on Friday night/Saturday morning. Staying up and seeing this sunrise made the night´s drive totally worth it, though!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Akureyri is an extremely hilly town – resulting in long streets and beautiful views.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
A trip to the botanical garden is a must when you visit Akureyri!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
…can someone put one of these in my backyard, please? Okay, thanks!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
My niece and one of my best friends – just casually modeling!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
My first sight of fall colors this year, in the botanical garden.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Akureyri´s church, seen from behind.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The majestic towers of Akureyri´s church.
IMG_3215
Somebody got christened! Becoming this little lady´s godmother is such an honor.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Overlooking the city center, from the top of the church steps.
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
The houses of downtown Akureyri are old and charming, as if from a colorful fairytale!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
This might be my favorite piece of art I have seen in a loooong time!
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Overlooking the fjord, seen from the city center.

-xoxo and have a lovely weekend, Lady Reykjavík.

P.S. Anyone else think my “xoxo” is starting to feel a little Gossp Girl-y? I just started watching the shows this month and now I can’t read my blog post endings without hearing Gossip Girl’s voice in my head!

6 comments

Leave a Reply

